butternut squash and walnut soup

The butternut squash – also known as the butternut pumpkin or Cucurbita moschata – was a delightful discovery in my kitchen. It’s not that easy to find and surprisingly most vegetable hawkers will not even have heard of it. If you have trouble finding one just email me and I’ll let you know where to go. This recipe was the suggestion of a work colleague. It sounded simple enough and I was very curious to try out something I’d never tasted before.

You obviously need to be prepared for this one – although after some research I found many butternut squash recipes, so I’m likely to buy another one very soon. Apparently it’s also very nutritious and in some countries used often in making baby food. Aside from the butternut squash you will only need: walnuts, 1 onion, 1 clove of garlic, stock and water. It’s THAT simple, see?!

Chop up your butternut squash first. I didn’t peel it and when it was far too late realized that I might have needed to peel it. A quick internet search told me it’s ok to eat the peel so I left it there, but most recipes will tell you to peel it. I can guarantee that the peel becomes tender enough to blend easily and does not leave a bitter taste. In case you’re wondering, you can also eat this vegetable (fruit? it is debatable) raw and it tastes half way between a honey melon and a pumpkin. I know because I’ve tried it of course. However if you decide to peel it, it’ll probably be much easier to chop.

Fry the chopped onion and minced garlic in a small amount of olive oil until they just begin to brown. Throw in the chopped butternut squash and a stock cube and fill with water until the butternut squash is just covered. Leave it to simmer for about 20 minutes or until the vegetable is soft enough to blend. Blend 🙂

Crush the walnuts in any manner you deem fit. Throw them into the blended soup and leave to cook for a few minutes. Blend again, unless you prefer a crunchier soup, but remember that blending will release more walnut flavour into the soup and this is probably what you’ll be wanting at this point. I added a little bit of salt but you don’t really have to do that. The taste is nutty and sweet and unlike most soups I’ve ever tried before. Very impressed!

8 responses to “butternut squash and walnut soup

  1. Interesting soup, I should try this!

  2. looks gooooood, i’ve never tried butternut squash anything – they’re everywhere here, but i’ve always been scared of the vegetable. it looks weird and i always expect to not know how to cut it lol

    • It’s a bit hard to chop when it still has the peel on, but do-able. You really should try it, there are loads of things you can do with it apparently.. even sweet things. AND it’s very nutritious 🙂

  3. omg yes! yes!!! totally going to make this!!

    Btw, might help but the few veggie vendors i tried in malta know it as “il-qara hamra mit-tawwalija”, i.e. the longish red pumpking. d’oh. i know, very scientific. hehehehe. but it helped when i made the roast pumpkin/beetroot salad (http://oliveoilandheart.blogspot.com/2010/06/roast-beetroot-pumpkin-and-cheese-salad.html).

  4. p.s. totally with you on the non-peeling. 1) it’s a hassle to peel, and 2)it’s more nutritious with the peel on 😀

  5. I tried this soup after I bought a butternut squash without having an idea what I should do with it. Unluckily I did not like the sweet taste of it! But for whoever likes the sweetness of it really was creamy and nutty.

Leave a Reply

