sticky pick-me-up

Once I got the hang of making muffins, I was dying to try something that involved coffee. My kitchen is now constantly stocked for the eventuality of a muffin-making emergency. Today I tried this recipe. They turned out somewhat sticky so I’m thinking I might need to modify the recipe a little bit in the future. Although to be fair I haven’t even given them time to cool down properly. I’m also thinking they will be a great pick-me-up with my morning coffee.

You will need:

  • 2 and a half cups flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup plain yoghurt
  • 1 cup strong black cold coffee
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 cup sugar

Preheat your oven to about 180 Celsius. Mix all the ingredients, starting with all the dry ones, then adding the eggs, yoghurt and coffee. Mix well and scoop into muffin cups or a muffin tray. They will be done very quickly, in about 15 minutes! Make another cup of strong coffee and enjoy your muffins 🙂

2 responses to “sticky pick-me-up

  1. mmm…. is the coffee taste very strong in them?

    “My kitchen is now constantly stocked for the eventuality of a muffin-making emergency” – lol same here!!

    • Every now and then I get a sudden urge to make muffins and it’s usually not consistent with the time I’m going grocery shopping lol

      So.. the coffee taste isn’t very obvious, even though I made a strong coffee (2 heaped teaspoons). They’re very different to the usual muffins as they don’t taste very sweet, probably because of the yoghurt as well. I had to add a little bit more flour because the consistency was too watery. I might even add a little bit of brown sugar next time to make them a tad sweeter.

      Let me know how yours turn out!

Leave a Reply

