it’s not garfield’s Lasagna

Lasagna always sounded so complicated. All those different layers with ingredients that have immensely different cooking times… For a long time it remained quite a mystery, and although my mother always told me it was very simple to make, I reasoned everything she made was simple enough for her. She, after all, simply loves to cook.

And it is simple – disappointingly so. I first made a lasagna after a really hard day at work. I used cooking as therapy that day and literally THREW the thing together. There was a bit of a mess, but the result was fantastic. Just in case you’re wondering, the therapy was successful!

There are two ways of going about it – you can either use a meat or veg sauce that you’ve prepared earlier or make a fresh one. In my opinion a lasagna generally tastes better if the sauce has been prepared earlier but it’s a matter of taste really. As you probably know, everyone has their method and each lasagna is quite individual 🙂

For today’s post I will be using a previous recipes for an aubergine mix and some Bolognese sauce or veg Bolognese sauce.

You will need:

  • lasagna sheets (uncooked)
  • mozzarella or any cheese that melts
  • tomato sauce
  • white sauce
  • aubergine mix (see previous recipe)
  • 2 eggs
  • bolognese sauce (cooked)

Prepare all your ingredients in front of you and preheat your oven to about 200 celcius.

Place a layer of aubergine mix at the bottom of your oven dish. Cover this with a small amount of tomato sauce and some pieces of mozzarella. Place a layer of pasta over this. Cover with the Bolognese sauce, some white sauce and more cheese. Place another layer of pasta. Continue this procedure until you fill up your dish.

I ended the top layer with pasta, but this makes it curl. I didn’t mind the effect but keep in mind that the top layer will have a harder texture in this way. Most people will end with cheese or one of the sauces.

Whisk two eggs in a bowl and gently cover your lasagna. I found that some will seep into the sides and will make it stay together when serving.

It needs about 40 minutes in the oven and if you can wait, some moments to sit before attempting to cut it up. There you go – seriously disappointingly easy delicious lasagna.

2 responses to “it’s not garfield’s Lasagna

  1. This looks amazing. I miss the carbs haha.
    I want to make a lasagne but with sliced aubergines INSTEAD of the pasta. Like a moussaka I guess =)

    • Ahhh yes let me know how it goes when you make it. I wanted to try that too but on the day I had it planned my oven had a mini stroke – thankfully it was a false alarm – some setting went wrong with the power cut *hugs oven*.

      I’m pretty sure it would be best to grill the aubergines before layering though. Mmm getting hungry! I also want to try a vegetarian one with peppers.

Leave a Reply

