Pepper sauce

It took me a while to find these, but you can actually get ‘fresh’ peppercorns in brine!

For this sauce you will need:

  • fresh peppercorns
  • a glass of white wine
  • a small tub of fresh cream
  • 1 tablespoon of French mustard

Place your peppercorns (without the brine of course) in a blender to burst some of them open. Place them in a pan with the wine and cook for some minutes.

Please ignore the fact that all these peppercorns are whole – I initially thought they would soften slightly as I started to cook them, but I was wrong. They’re far too hard to crush in the pan, so I had to blend after I’d added the wine.

Add your cream and mustard and cook for a further few minutes until it starts to thicken.

Serve with beef, chicken, fish… anything really. We really enjoyed this one and will be making it again very soon!

4 responses to “Pepper sauce

  1. There are fresh peppercorns growing on roads Mir!! Pink ones! for example, the road leading from the aquaducts to hamrun is full of them!! they are delicious!

  2. This sounds very simple and will surely taste nice. I have bought pepper corn in brine sometime ago but never got around to using them. I guess I will try this out with them!

Leave a Reply

