Pesto Lasagne

This lasagna really felt like a winner in my kitchen. It’s genius, why isn’t it served as a vegetarian alternative in restaurants?! Now if I had some say in it..

You will need:

  • Pesto (you can easily make your own.. blog post in the future)
  • Approximately 12 sheets of plain or spinach pasta (learn how to make your own sheets here)
  • 400g ricotta
  • 250g grated mozzarella
  • 2 tablespoons freshly grated Parmesan
  • 400ml white sauce (again, you can make your own)

Place one ladle of white sauce at the bottom of your oven dish to prevent anything from sticking to the bottom. Now you know how it’s done.

If cooking immediately preheat your oven to 180 degrees at the start.

In a bowl prepare the ricotta, cheeses and the rest of the white sauce..

.. and mix thoroughly

When I made this I used a mixture of sundried tomato pesto and basil pesto. I also mixed plain with spinach pasta sheets. Start to make layers as follows – pasta, pesto, ricotta mix – until all your ingredients are used up…

… finishing off with the ricotta mix.

Bake for about 25-30 minutes until the top starts to brown. Let it sit a while before cutting up to serve.

7 responses to “Pesto Lasagne

  1. omg that looks soooooo gooooddd !!!

  2. I second that

  3. Wow… it’s simple and probably amazingly good.. plus using larder staples. will try it out soon

    • That’s what I loved about it – ingredients I’d usually buy anyway and it didn’t take long to make. Plus I prepared it earlier then cooked it as soon as I got home. I’m sure it is going to become a favourite!

  4. ommmnomnomnom!!! that looks great!

Leave a Reply

