Daily Archives: November 17, 2010

how to chop an onion

First of all – the eternal onion-related question – How do you chop an onion without crying? My favourite method is to rinse the onion under running water before I start to cut it up. If it’s a big one I might need to do this more than once. I’ve heard of chewing gum while you do it too. In any case I find that if you don’t position your face directly on top of them while you cut, the fumes won’t get to you.

What is your trick?

Chopping an onion:

Chop lengthwise. You may prefer to remove the outer layers to discard before or after you chop it in half, it doesn’t matter which way you go about it.

As you can see on the right hand ride of the photo, leave about 1.5 cms on one side and cut along the length of the onion several times. Hold it from the intact end to keep the layers in place.

Still holding from the intact end (I have turned it around in the photo) now chop the other way. There you go – diced onion.